• Each month in the library we will celebrate a beloved children's author

    2019-2020 Authors:

    no willems

    September 2019:

    Mo Willems

    (1968-      )

    Mo Willems is an American author and illustrator. He has been awarded a Caldecott Honor on three occasions (for Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus!, Knuffle Bunny: A Cautionary Tale, and Knuffle Bunny Too: A Case of Mistaken Identity).

    Dav Pilkey

    October 2019:

    Dav Pilkey


    Dav Pilkey is an American author and illustrator. He has been awarded a Caldecott Honor for his 1997 book The Paperboy. His most beloved children's works include the series Captain Underpants and Dog Man.

    Jacqueline Woodson

    November 2019:

    Jacqueline Woodson


    Jacqueline Woodson is an Amerian author of books for children and adolescents. Her Newbery Honorwinning titles include Brown Girl Dreaming, Feathers,and Show Way. After serving as the Young People's Poet Laureate from 2015–17, she was named the National Ambassador for Young People's Literature by the Library of Congress for 2018–19. In her words:

    "I used to say I’d be a teacher or a lawyer or a hairdresser when I grew up but even as I said these things, I knew what made me happiest was writing."

    Molly Bang

    December 2019:

    Molly Bang


    Molly Bang is an American author and illustrator. She is a three-time Caldecott Honor winner and has written and illustrated more than twenty books for young readers. She is well known for her interest in the natural world and her advocacy for environmental issues, which is reflected in her work. Her book When Sophie Gets Angry - Really, Really Angry..., was both a Caldecott Honor book and winner of the Charlotte Zolotow Award.



     Andrea Pinkney

    January 2020:

     Andrea Davis Pinkney


    Andrea Davis Pinkney is an award-winning author of numerous books for children and young adults, including picture books, novels, works of historical fiction and nonfiction.


    February 2020:

    Jason Reynolds


    Jason Reynolds

    Photo by James J. Reddington.

    Jason Reynolds was recently appointed the National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature for 2020-2021 by the Library of Congress. A native of Washington, D.C., Reynolds began writing poetry at 9 years old. He is the recipient of a Newbery Honor, a Printz Honor, an NAACP Image Award, and multiple Coretta Scott King Award honors.

    March 2020:

    Dr. Seuss


    Dr. Seuss

    Dr. Seuss was an American children's author known for his work writing and illustrating over 60 children's books. His work includes many of the most popular children's books of all time, selling over 600 million copies and being translated into more than 20 languages by the time of his death.

     2018-2019 Authors:


    copyright Smithsonian Magazine

    September: Roald Dahl (1916-1990)


    Roald Dahl was a British author who wrote the beloved children's books Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (1964), James and the Giant Peach(1961), Fantastic Mr. Fox (1970), The BFG (1982) and Matilda (1988). Click on the link above to learn more about his life and work.


    photo shel

    Photo by : Larry Moyer

    shel silverstein

    October: Shel Silvertein (1930-1999)

    Shel Silverstein was an American writer beloved for his children's books, songs and poetry. 


    Cynthia Rylant

    November: Cynthia Rylant (1954-)

     Cynthia Rylant is an American author and librarian. She was born in 1954 in Appalachia and has written over 100 books for children.


    Jan Brett

    December: Jan Brett (1949-)

    Jan Brett is an American illustrator and author of children's picture books. She lives in Massachusetts. Here most well known books are The Mitten, The Hat and Gingerbread Baby.




    January: Ezra Jack Keats (1916-1983)

    Ezra jack Keats was an American author and illustrator of children's books. He wanted no child to be an outsider.

    "If we could see each other exactly as the other is," he wrote, "this would be a different world."

    He won the 1963 Caldecott Medal for illustrating The Snowy Day, which he also wrote.


    Jerry Pinkney

    February: Jerry Pinkney (1939-    )

    Jerry Pinkney is an African American artist, illustrator and author. He won the Caldecott Medal in 2010 for The Lion and the Mouse, a wordless adaptation of Aesop's fable.



     Jack Prelutzky


    March: Jack Prelutzky (1940-   )

    An American author known for his humorous and imaginative poetry for children. He has published over 70 works of children’s poetry. From 2006-2008 he served as the Poetry Foundation’s first U.S. Children’s Poet Laureate.  

     April: Jon Klassen (1981-    )

    Jon Klassen is a Canadian author and illustrator best known for his "hat" trilogy: I Want My Hat Back (2011), This is Not My Hat (2012, winner of the Caldecott Medal) and We Found a Hat (2016). Klassen often collaborates with author, Mac Barnett, and their recent work includes the shape trilogy: The Triangle, The Square and The Circle (2017).


     jon klassen